Youth Festival Recipient, Alexander Cothren

Alex is a freshman in High School. He attends St. Francis Catholic Church.  He currently is in his confirmation classes.  Alex comes from a large Catholic Family, four  brothers and five sisters.  His family is a hard working family, even the kids chip in to help Mom and Dad with their after school job of cleaning the Elementary, Middle and High School of our small town.  He is very active at his church, he is an alter server and he recently played Jesus on Good Friday during the Living Stations. Alex plays on the Varsity Football Team and runs Track, all this and he still maintains an A average.  Wayne and I truly believe Alex is being called to go on this pilgrimage to Medjugorje.  I asked Alex a few questions,

What are you looking to get out of your Medjugorje pilgrimage?

I am looking to obtain that mountain top experience and strengthen my relationship with Jesus Christ even more. I can’t wait to Climb Cross Mountain while doing the Stations of the Cross and praying the Rosary up Apparition Hill. I look forward to worshipping and praying with so many other kids and seeing more of Jesus’ wonderful creations and experiencing His great works.

How did you feel as you played Jesus carrying the cross?

Playing Jesus in the Living Stations of the Cross was very emotional. I felt only a tiny sliver of the pain that he felt and can only imagine how he could bear that much for our sins. It was an eye opening experience and I am very glad that I had the opportunity to be part of His Passion.

I would like to personally thank everybody for helping me make this pilgrimage. I never would have dreamt this would be happening. I thank you again, and I will take each and every one of you to Medjugorje in my prayers. 

Alexander George Cothren

If you would like to help Alex on his pilgrimage to Medjugorje, please send your donation to Weible Columns, PO Box 10, Hiawasse, GA 30546. Or visit http://www.medjugorjeweible.com/Charities.htm at the bottom of the page and make donation online. Thank you and God Bless.

Leave a Reply

