“This season is for you”

Message of February 13, 1986, “This lent is a special incentive for you to change.  Start from this moment.  Turn off the television and renounce various things that are of no value.  Dear Children I am calling you individually to conversion.  This season is for you. Thank you for having responded to my call.”

 “This season is for you.”  What a gift, Mary. I’m imagining someone handing me a box, wrapped with ribbons the colors of the rainbow and there’s my name in bold print, “FOR KATHLEEN.”  I open it and inside are these simple words on the simplest of paper, “My gift for you is this season of lent.”

And there it is.  The time I’ve been looking for. No excuses now.  If I’m serious about finding quiet time, about sitting in stillness just being and listening for God, then, for me, the gift of this season comes at the perfect time.  Not to mention, it’s the season of spring – the season of awakening, coming to life, of beginning again.  How much more perfect a season can God give to us? 

Lord, when Mary comes with her messages, messages that bring us closer to her Son, she calls us children.  And like children we love gifts with surprises falling out like ribbon unraveling.  Lord this is a thank you note on the simplest of paper, not colorful, but so grateful.

“I will give thanks to you, O Lord, with all my heart, for you have heard the words of my mouth…..Psalm 138

 Kathleen Aparo

Leave a Reply

