Medjugorje Stone – “Fasting”

“I would like the people to pray along with me these days. And to pray as much as possible! And to fast strictly on Wednesdays and Fridays, and every day to pray at least one Rosary: the joyful, sorrowful and glorious mysteries.”  Message of August 14, 1984

“By fasting as the Blessed Virgin Mary asks of us at Medjugorje, we learn to depend on God, not ourselves. Fasting in any form – from food, alcohol, substances, media, habits, attitudes – is only successful when we come to that inevitable point of need/want/temptation to break the fast. But instead of bending the rules or giving up, Mary is teaching us to pray to the Holy Spirit so that we can and will continue” – Wayne Weible

Remember your Fasting is your gift to God. Whatever you decide to give to the Lord. My teenage daughter Fasts from the Internet and Facebook on Wednesdays, this is a big Fast for her. This is the gift she has decided to give up to the Lord.  Wayne Weible once told me, think of your Fast as a picture for Our Lord and he will put it on his Refrigerator, every child gives a different picture, but no matter what you give to him he places it on his refrigerator.

Remember no matter what we decide to Fast from, temptation will be there. Pray to the Holy Spirit for the strength to stay strong.

Before I visited Medjugorje, I never thought of Fasting except during Lent on Fridays. Through prayers and reading Our Lady’s Messages I understand it now, Fasting is a gift, now I can’t wait to Fast. I feel happy and peaceful to know that I am stepping away from the world and Fasting for the Lord. I look forward to my Wednesdays, I fast on Bread and Water (still have my cup of coffee in the morning). I still have not made it to the full Friday Fast, on Fridays I give up something important to me. I am praying and I hope I will be able to Fast on Fridays soon. Taking it slow, is important. Through praying and listening you will know when you are ready for the next step. When I first started fasting, I fasted on Bread and Water for breakfast and lunch. But for Dinner, I had a small cup of soup. I now can Fast for the whole day (still have my cup of coffee in the morning). I am praying on that cup of coffee and I hope to be able to do this for the Lord soon.

It is exciting to give something to the Lord, because he has given us so much. The Gifts and Graces he gives us daily is amazing and Fasting is a great way to say Thank you God for all that you have done. I love you Lord.

May the Grace of God be with each and everyone of you.

Mary Maddox

2 thoughts on “Medjugorje Stone – “Fasting”

Leave a Reply

